skip navigation

Thirty-four athletes invited to 2017 USA Softball Men’s National Team Selection Camp

By dp, 12/01/16, 11:15AM CST


Michael Lewis and Tyler Bouley of Minnesota invited.

USA Softball, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today that 34 athletes have accepted invitations to attend the 2017 USA Softball Men’s National Team (MNT) Selection Camp to be held January 20-22, 2017 in San Diego, Calif.  These athletes will vie for 17 spots on the 2017 USA Softball MNT roster that will compete at the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) Men's World Championship in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada.

During the selection process, athletes will participate in position drills as well as simulated games and be evaluated by the USA Softball Men’s National Team Selection Committee (MNTSC).  Currently ranked No. 6 in the WBSC Softball World Rankings, the MNT will compete in the WBSC Men's World Championship in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada, July 7-16, 2017.  The Red, White and Blue will look to improve upon a ninth-place finish at the 2015 WBSC World Championship in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada, where the team finished with a 7-3 record and placed first in the Playoff Rounds.  The U.S. will be led by National Softball Hall of Fame coach Denny Bruckert (Gillespie, Ill.).  The complete 2017 schedule for the MNT, including exhibition games, will be announced at a later date.

For updates on the USA Softball MNT and events throughout the 2017 season visit

Mark Aranda (Las Cruces, N.M.) Tyler Bouley (Champlin, Minn.)
Freddy Carmona (San Antonio, Texas) Kevin Castillo (Long Beach, Calif.)
Dan Cevette (Elmira, N.Y.) Jenner Christiansen (Hayward, Calif.)
Nate Devine (Sonora, Calif.) Tyler Dudley (Battle Creek, Mich.)
Jon Gwizdala (Bay City, Mich.) Chris Heinline (Columbia, Mo.)
Mike Hoadley (Worcester, Mass.) BJ Hunhoff (Harrisburg, S.D.)
Josh Johnson (El Paso, Texas) Bryce Kay (Jefferson, Mo.)
Trevor Kelly (Marshall, Mich.) Derek Martin (Stevens, Pa.)
Michael Lewis (Amboy, Minn.) Jonathan Lynch (Cape Girardeau, Mo.)
Tony Mancha (Las Cruces, N.M.)  Jeremy Manley (Fielding, New Zealand)
Nick Mullins (Toms River, N.J.) Travis Nevin (Indian Brook, Nova Scotia)
Jeff Nowaczyk (Midland, Mich.) Eric Ochoa (Mexicali, Mexico)
Matt Palazzo (Pleasant Hill, Iowa) Matt Ratliff (American Fork, Utah)
Gilbert Saenz (Denver, Colo.)  Pat Sagdal (Richland, Wash.) 
Cameron Schiller (Prescott, Ariz.) Marcus Tan (Union City, Calif.)
Matt Thornton (Thornton, Colo.) Chase Turner (San Jose, Calif.)
Duane Weiler (Bedford, Pa.) Derrick Zechman (Watsontown, Pa.)